There’s no place like home…

image As I sit here, unwinding for the night, I realize that I’ve become quite the creature of habit.

I used to crave change. I wouldn’t be happy in a routine for too long as I quickly found it mundane. And so, it surprises me to realize that I am now perfectly content with ending my days snuggled up with a cup of tea and a book.

When I share this  with friends or family, I get answers like ” well you’ve grown up” or “you’ve matured” or my favourite, “you’re just getting old (I’m 25 )” . While those are all valid points (except the getting old part ), I think it’s more a thing of comfort.

The feeling of being trapped in an endless loop or being down in the dumps because I haven’t changed anything in my routine in a while is gone. I am comfortable.

In the last few years, many aspects of my life has changed. From the people with whom I surround myself, to my job, to my outlook on everything. I’m now comfortable with how I live and, in turn, I find myself enjoying the smaller things.

The quiet moments I spend sipping my tea, or the Sunday mornings cooking breakfast while singing/dancing to music are now the things I crave, not change.

Don’t get me wrong, I like to shake things up once in a while. But having a routine and knowing what to look forward to is what puts a smile on my face.

