The Art Of Racing In The Rain

garthsteinDo not be fooled by this titled. When I first heard of The Art of Racing In The Rain by Garth Stein, I was uninterested because I believed it was truly a book about racing. Little did I know, this book was going to be one of my favourites of 2014.

The Art Of Racing In The Rain is told in the perspective of Enzo, a dog with big dreams. He is living his last days and takes the time to think back on the life he had with his master, Denny Swift, a race car driver.

Enzo is a fabulous raconteur. He has a wonderful way of looking at the world, and while reading this book, I can only hope my own dogs have a similar way of looking at life and at me as their “master”.

Since I have two dogs of my own that I adore,this book really hit home. As Enzo was sharing his life, I kept imagining my own dogs in his situation; whether he was strapped in a race car, begging to go faster or laying beside his sick master, wondering what he could do to help her, I kept imagining my own dogs in his place and, in my opinion, Stein couldn’t have portrayed a dog more accurately.

The story itself is sad, twisted and somewhat depressing at times as Denny goes through so much in his life. However, having Enzo narrate the story brings a warmth to the story.

I won’t ramble further as I believe it’s a story that should be read blindly.

I will sign off by saying this is the closest to perfect book I’ve read in a while. If you’re an animal lover and want a story to warm you heart and maybe shed a few tears in the process, add The Art Of Racing In The Rain to your list.

