The Dark Heroine

15998621I don’t even know where to start. I read this book about two years ago and I’m still talking about it now because I can’t erase it from my mind. The Dark Heroine by Abigail Gibbs follows Violet Lee, who is a 17 year old girl thrown in the middle of an age old vampire quarrel. She is taken hostage at their amazing and magical mansion in the middle of nowhere. The main vampire character, Kaspar, is a grumpy and spoiled vampire brat. If you thought Edward Cullen from the Twilight series was bad, this guy is worse. Lee describes him as having auburn hair and wicked eyes with a morose attitude, sound familiar? (Insert eye roll here).

Nothing interesting happens in this story. I thought it mostly revolved around Kaspar and Violet’s relationship, which is painfully annoying. I kept reading only because I expected the story to pick up at any moment but it did not. It’s just Violet, going on and on about the various balls and vampire politics and Kaspar’s temper and bla bla bla

This book was unpleasant, to say the least. It was actually a painful read. It was written by a 17 year old girl who loved vampires. Don’t get me wrong, some teenagers and even a few children can indeed write amazing pieces of literature but this was not the case. There were multiple times where I found grammatical errors and what not. The style of writing is mediocre and high schoolish at best. It was way too long and it could have easily been cut in half. I’m still dumbfounded by how I got through this book with my sanity more or less intact. I would most definitely NOT recommend this book to anyone. The other day I was browsing through a bookstore and realized that she had actually written a sequel to this horrible book. I could not run away from it fast enough.

The author said somewhere that the story had been cut in half in the editing process. I cannot wrap my headaround how this story could have been any longer! Save yourself the pain and skip this book. You’ll thank me for it.

wickedsparks

