Three Cups Of Tea

ThreeCupsOfTea_BookCoverUgh… reading slumps. Don’t you hate those? I’m in one right now. It seems every time I sit down to read, my eyes won’t stay open or something is distracting me. Since I’m having a hard time finishing a book, I thought I’d share my thoughts on one I’ve read a while ago.

Ok, so here goes.

Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin has been tremendously scrutinized in the last few years since some of the claims in this memoir are allegedly untrue. In addition, Mortenson was accused of mismanaging a charitable organization he co-founded as well as misspending its money.

All allegations aside, I believe this book holds an inspirational and motivational story.

Greg Mortenson is a mountaineer; for the first chapter of the book, you can really feel it in him. He talks about his failure to climb the world’s second highest mountain: K2. Greg then finds himself in a Pakistan village. Because of the villagers’ remarkable kindness, Greg promises to return to this village and build a school for them.

For those of you who have read my review on The End Of Your Life Book Club, you probably know that people like Greg (not taking account of the accusations) or Mary (from The End Or Your Life Book Club) are people I look up to. To be able to put together a team and raise enough money to build a school or library is something I admire so much. It takes an immense amount of devotion and discipline and is something I’d love to be able to do one day in my life.

I read/see so many people and creatures in need of help and I have everything in my disposition, the least I could do is try to help. Yes, I give to organizations here and there, but I’d love to do so much more. I just don’t know where to start. We need the Gregs and the Marys in our lives to guide us a bit. Some day, I’d love to be one of them.

Though some people won’t want to read this book because it may or may not contain false claims, but if you take that away, you’re still left with a powerful story. One that has given me some kind of strength and has made me believe that with a lot of work, help, and my heart in the right place, I can put together something amazing.

Note: Mortenson is still the face of the charity he co-founded, Central Asia Institute, thought he had to repay the organization 1 million dollars.

-Athena

“Once you educate the boys, they tend to leave the villages and go search for work in the cities, but the girls stay home, become leaders in the community, and pass on what they’ve learned. If you really want to change a culture, to empower women, improve basic hygiene and health care, and fight high rates of infant mortality, the answer is to educate girls.” -Greg Mortenson

amazon_button

