To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

15749186For a few months, all I’ve heard was how amazing this book was. It was described as “genius” or “the best book ever”. Naturally, I wanted to see what the big deal was, so I made my way onto Amazon and purchased this book that had everyone so excited.

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han is the story of a young girl; Lara Jean, who, to get over her crushes, writes them love letters spilling all of her thoughts into them. However, those letters are never sent. They are hidden away in a hat box Lara Jean keeps in her closet… that was the plan, anyway. One day, Lara realizes her letters have all been sent to her former crushes when they suddenly approach her asking for an explanation.

After reading the synopsis, I was excited to read the book. This story sounded so much fun. I was wondering how Lara Jean would keep things together, what she’d come up with and exactly what would come out of her predicament. Alas, I was disappointed with the outcome.

First of all, I’m not a fan of Lara Jean as a character. Though I understand that she’s only 16-years-old, I don’t remember myself, or any other 16-year-old, to have her mindset. She has such a childish, whiny voice, I kept imagining she was 13. She seems to have little experience in pretty much every aspect of her life which brings me to ask myself “what has she been doing for 16 years?”. This girl should be getting ready for college in merely 2 years and she doesn’t seem even close to being able to live on her own.

The plot isn’t much better either. Though I thought it might be an interesting one, pretty much nothing significant happens throughout the book and what does happen is a result of Lara Jean’s lack of backbone and maturity. Instead of sucking up and telling the truth to one of the boys who asks to explain the letter and tell him that she had feelings for him and might still have them, she decides to put together a story that snowballs and gets her into a surrealistic situation.  I understand that a shy 16-year-old might not have the guts to reveal her feelings to her crush, but she goes through so much trouble to avoid a bit of grief which I have a hard time understanding.

Though I admit, a few of the scenes were adorable, I felt most of the story was unnecessary . A normal teen wouldn’t have reacted the way Lara Jean has.

I know this is a book that has been loved by many but it was seriously not my cup of tea. If you think this is a book you’d like, I encourage you to read it and let me know your thoughts on it.  🙂

-Athena

amazon_button

 

 

“You only like guys you don’t have a chance with, because you’re scared.”
― Jenny Han, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

