Bad Taste In Boys

best coversBad Taste in Boys_Harris high defI had this one completely wrong. Tonight I felt in a contemporary mood. So when I looked on my bookshelf and saw Bad Taste In Boys by Carrie Harris, I thought it would be perfect. Not only is it SUPER short, but judging by the cover, something I should really learn NOT to do, It looked like just the book I needed tonight. Not quite.

Not to say I didn’t enjoy it, I did. It just wasn’t at all the type of book I thought I had chosen.

Bad Taste In Boys follows super-intelligent Kate Grable, a high school junior who aspires to get into college and become MD. She’s intelligent and funny, but a bit socially awkward. She describes herself as a string bean who looks like she belongs in a library doing research on weird medical mysteries – a “nerd”. To improve her college application, Kate volunteers as the school’s football team paramedic and that’s where things get …strange.

Kate finds out that the football coach has been giving the team some sort of drug. She has no clue was is in the drug but some of the boys start acting very weird -sort of…zombie-like.

Though this was not the kind of story I expected to be reading tonight, it was an enjoyable one. This book had me confused, cringing and giggling all at once and the dark humour just tied in everything nicely.

Don’t pick this book up thinking you’ve got a profound read that will change how you see the world, but if you’re looking for a quick, easy and entertaining read, I’d suggest giving Bad Taste In Boys a try!

-Athena

“I stumbled into a clearing. In the springtime, it was probably the kind of place you’d like to hang out with sparkly vampires. But it was slightly less attractive in the rain.”― Carrie HarrisBad Taste in Boys

amazon_button

