One Kick

One KickI’ve been so lucky these past few months and won so many great books from Goodreads. One Kick by Chelsea Cain was one of them and probably my favourite so far.

This story follows Kick Lannigan who was kidnapped when she was only six and found a few years later. It’s obvious that the kidnapping has changed a lot in different aspects of her life. As a result, she has grown to become a tough woman who I would not want to mess with. She has learned how to defend herself  by mastering different sports such as boxing and Tae kwon do as well as knowing a thing or two about weapons.

Kick is surprised by a visit from John Bishop, a wealthy former weapons dealer asking for help. He is determined to find two local kids who have gone missing in the past month and thinks Kick would be of some help. Though she’s not too fond of him, after much considerations, she agrees to team up.

To be honest, I thought I had it all figured out after the first few chapters. I thought I knew exactly how the story would unfold and though I did get some elements right, for the most part it wasn’t quite as predictable as I thought.

There isn’t much I didn’t enjoy about this book. The only negative thing I can come up with, and this may only be because my head was elsewhere when I started the novel, is that it took me a while to see the characters’ personalities. Kick didn’t come to life for me until the second half of the book. After the second half though, she kicked ass!

I’m so happy I received this book. I hadn’t read anything by Chelsea Cain before One Kick and now that I have, I want more. I love her writing style, her stories and that she’s not afraid to add a little gore to them.

I’m not sure whether this book is a part of a series but the ending made me want to know so much more!

One Kick will be released in August 2014, just in time to finish your summer reading with a bang.

 -Athena

amazon_button

