Shadow Heart

taeuffer_04_23_14Shadow Heart by Pamela Taeuffer is another book I was fortunate enough to win through Goodreads and I would like to thank Pamela, as well as Goodreads for holding this giveaway. I am always happy to receive new books and discover new authors. When I see the e-mail telling me I won a giveaway, I get super excited and my mood is lifted for the rest of the day.

Shadow Heart is a Contemporary romance novel about a seventeen year-old girl named Nicky. Raised in a dysfunctional family with an alcoholic father and a mother who seems to have given up on everything, Nicky has learned to cope with her situation by overbooking her days to avoid going home, and focusing on her education. Unlike most girls her age, Nicky has never paid much attention to boys. Of course, all of this changes when she meets Ryan, a dreamy baseball player with a bad reputation.

I very much enjoyed this novel. It was easy to read and although the subjects introduced in this book are very heavy ones, I didn’t feel as though they were overwhelming. I also enjoyed the fact that, for once, even though Nicky had a rough upbringing, her time and energy was focused on positive things as opposed to adapting a rebel lifestyle as we often see in novels. Nicky’s personality, though a tad annoying, is how I’d imagine someone with the same upbringing be like. With low self-esteem, a fear of commitment and the expectation that everything will always turn for the worse, I feel she is great, believable character.

On the other hand, and main thing that bothered me throughout the novel, Ryan feels very fictitious to me. I can’t picture him as being a real person for the simple reason that he seems to have no flaws. Everything about him is perfect. The way he talks, the way he acts, his fame, his fortune, his body – there isn’t a flawed hair on this man. He’s perfect to the point of getting on my nerves.

I, however, enjoyed Ryan’s intensity. He reminded me a bit of a more toned down Guideon Cross form the Crossfire series in the sense that he knows what he wants and will do anything to get it.

Even though Ryan isn’t my favourite character, the story itself was an enjoyable one. I had a great time reading it and I can’t wait for the sequel.

