The Dinner

the-dinner (1)When I first saw The Dinner by Herman Koch lying on the shelf at the book store, I was instantly drawn to it. My feeling was right; I couldn’t put the book down. 

The Dinner is a dark satire that is both mesmerizing and disturbing. The main character and narrator, Paul takes us through the many events that brought them to this dinner. We then slowly comprehend that Paul’s family has a dark, life changing secret which is the reason for their reunion in the Amsterdam restaurant.

From page one, this novel captivated my attention. If you are looking for a thought-provoking novel that will make you laugh while still sending shivers down your spine, I suggest adding The Dinner to your “Must Read” list.

“Sometimes things come out of your mouth that you regret later on. Or no, not regret. You say something so razor-sharp that Muthe person you say it to carries it around with them for the rest of their life.” 
― Herman KochThe Dinner

Athena

 

amazon_button

