Hick

HickNew_lrgHick has been on my reading wish list for the longest time and for the life of me, I could not find it anywhere. It was always either out of stock on websites or not available in stores and inexistent in used bookstores. After months of looking for it, it was mine.

The writing flows easily because it is nothing complex but it is still a pleasant read. The story follows Luli, a thirteen-year-old girl who runs away from her life back in Palmyra, Nebraska. On her adventure to Las Vegas, she crosses paths with a variety of special characters and is thrown more than a few curveballs. She escapes a dead end life only to be faced by even worse hardships. She falls in love, does cocaine, and becomes a con artist in the first hours of her adventure.

One of the things that I criticized was Luli’s age. She literally turns thirteen on the first page and for some reason I had difficulties relating to her because of it. There were times where she acted like a typical thirteen-year-old girl and other times, it felt like she was too old for her age. It makes the story feel unrealistic and unbelievable; granted, it is a work of fiction, but this caused me to feel disconnected from it. Don’t get me wrong; this is a very good book. There were parts that made you cringe and kept you on the edge of your seat. I just think it would have been better had she been older but then again, maybe that was the whole point of this book.

Luli is an odd character. She is rugged and has more than a few rough edges, to say the least. I would recommend this book because even though it deals with dark themes, there’s also a kind of lightness to it. It’s not as heavy as it is made out to be but sometimes it does get to you and I’m not easily affected by these kinds of things.

Be mindful that this book deals with some mature themes and mature subject matter and might not be everyone’s cup of tea. This sounds like a movie warning but I need to get this out there and stress it. It portrays taboo subjects such as abuse and other rather unpleasant things. Be warned!

wickedsparks

“And on and on till the moon gives way and the sun kills itself and the stars fall from the sky. I guess I’ll see you then.”                   – Andrea Portes, Hick.

