Cinder

imagesThough some people would tell me I’m too old, I still enjoy the occasional fairytale. Whether I pop in a Disney classic or read about my favourite characters such as Bluebeard (such an amazingly eerie tale), I always get that wonderful, nostalgic high I love so much. So it’s not surprising that when I heard about the Lunar Chronicles, I purchased the first book, Cinder, as quickly as I could. Usually, I’m dubious of reading hyped books. Most of the time they seem to let me down in some way. Cinder was a bit different. It might just be the fact that I went into it with lower expectations as not to be disappointed or that it’s a freaking retelling of one of my favourite fairytale but I enjoyed it quite a bit. As many of you probably already know (since I’m so late in discovering this series), Cinder is a futuristic retelling of Cinderella. Cinder is a teenage girl who is now a cyborg due to a grave accident she experienced when she was a child. She is now left with a robotic arm and leg as well as a reprogrammed brain which helps her in becoming the best mechanic in New-Beijing. Soon after prince Kai seeks her out for her mechanic skills, Cinder embarks on an adventure to save the world. This story is a completely different version of Cinderella while still keeping elements from the original story. It’s a very quick and entertaining read. The characters and world are very well established which I and very surprised to see. The only reason why this book didn’t receive 5 stars on my Goodreads is the writing. Though Marissa’s writing isn’t horrible, it seems like it could have been improved a tad more. I find she describes scenes very similarly throughout the book. For example, when someone is keeping themselves to do or say something, it’s always portrayed as them making fists, digging their nails in their palms or pursing their lips – which happens very often. That said, I’m looking forward to continuing the series and I’m extremely happy to know that the 4th book, Winter, is to be released early next year. – Athena

“I’m sure I’ll feel much more grateful when I find a guy who thinks complex wiring in a girl is a turn-on.” ― Marissa Meyer, Cinder

amazon_button

