Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

let's pretend this never happened

Sometimes I’m really bad when it comes to books because I do tend to judge them by their covers. This was the case with Jenny Lawson’s Let’s pretend This Never Happened. It is a memorable cover, one I had seen over and over again through the years but to me, a supernatural fan girl, it was unappealing. I mean, it’s a mouse with a cape.

I stumbled upon her book in a used bookstore in my home town and I grabbed it just at the last minute and I’m not sure why but I’m really glad I did. This book was so good and so hilarious that I’d be telling everyone in my entourage about it. Her writing flows easily and is quite enjoyable.

Jenny Lawson is a real life blogger, a funny one at that, and the book is a kind of autobiography as she retells insane events. Part of me thinks, it’s impossible but then again, another part is like, well why wouldn’t it have happened?

Her life is nothing short of extremely entertaining and I could not put this book down. The first few pages immediately suck you in and the rest of the book is exactly the same; funny and quirky. She even has pictures to validate her claims; which I find amazing. Although she does say that it is mostly real, she says this because of course; she had to change some of the names.

As for the insane events that make up her life, as a reader, you’re not entirely sure which parts are real and which are not. But really, does it matter? It might all be real for all I know. She talks about armadillo races, magic squirrels, arm condoms and zombie dogs. What more can you ask for? As for the odd mouse on the cover, let me just say this: it is a taxidermy one. It is an object that she actually owns, that alone should tell you what kind of person she is, which is awesome.

wickedsparks

“Eventually they fixed everything and I was relieved, until they told me that, when they cut hole in the wall a bunch of dead scorpions fell out. I’m never going to sleep again.”
– Jenny Lawson, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened.

To purchase this awesome book, click here!

