Pointe

13360957First of all I would like to thank First Read and Penguin Canada for holding a giveaway for this book – which I was lucky enough to win.

Pointe by Brandy Colbert is a young adult, contemporary read. Theo, our protagonist, first came across to me as an average, troubled teenager who has a glimmer of hope at a successful life because she has a talent for ballet. As I progressed through the book I realized that Theo was far from the average teen. She has been through so much and as I found out more about this girl I saw that her character has so much more depth than I thought.

Theo is obviously in love with ballet. She eat, breaths and sleeps ballet and now she’s on the path to dance as a professional. On top of the immense pressure of delivering amazing performances every class, her every moves are scrutinized by every one surrounding her ever since she got back from Juniper Hill. Plus, now that her best friend, Donovan, has returned home after being missing for four years, and is not talking, Theo needs to make painful decisions.

I love Theo. Colbert has done a wonderful job in creating such real, believable character. I know she has been criticized for making poor choices but at the end she is just a teenager trying to find her way through tough situations.

I my opinion, this story was beautiful. It touched many painful subjects but also portrayed lovely scenes of typical school girl situations. Though this novel is marketed to readers of age 14 and up, I feel that there are many mature subject matters and some of the younger readers might not be comfortable with this. With that said, it was really one of the best YA novels I’ve read in a while so I urge you to get your hands on a copy when it comes out. (expected publishing date: April 10th, 2014) Brandy Colbert’s début was an impressive one. I’m eager to read more of her work.

-Athena

Could you find a way to be happy, even if  you’d been kidnapped? -Brandy Colbert, Pointe

Pre-order a copy on Amazon.

