The Archived

ImageVery seldom do I find myself wanting to read a good paranormal story. However, after reading many great reviews about The Archived by Victoria Schwab, I decided to give it a go. It took me about 2 chapters to really get into the story. After that, I couldn’t put it down.

Mackenzie Bishop is the main character of this novel. She is a Keeper. This means that it is her duty to return any Histories (dead people) that may have escaped the Archives (A library of the dead). We follow her in her adventures to this paranormal world and back, while trying to figure out who should be trusted with Mac’s secrets.

I enjoyed the story enough but what captivated me was Victoria’s writing. Though this is a young adult novel, I thought the writing style was sophisticated and had a lovely flow to it. Her words are almost poetry-like. Something I was definitely not expecting from a YA, paranormal novel.

All in all, I believe The Archived is a great read for anyone. Teen, adult, or senior, if you have only a slight interest in the paranormal and can appreciate a well-written, quick read, I would suggest you pick this novel up.

I can hardly wait to get my hands on The Unbound…

Athena


“You’re trying to block out every bit of noise. But people are made of noise, Mac. The world is full of noise. And finding quiet isn’t about pushing everything out. It’s just about pulling yourself in.”
― Victoria SchwabThe Archived

Get your copy here. 

